The CIA, book awards and the Nobel Prize

The Galley Cat at mediobistro has this fascinating post about book prizes in general and Doctor Zhivago in particular: It really does seem like every other day there’s a new award announcement that goes out to the press, and almost as frequent is the backlash. V S Naipaul (paraphrased by Nilanjana Roy) once said thatContinue reading “The CIA, book awards and the Nobel Prize”

NBCC finalists to be announced Saturday

In just three days, the National Book Critics Circle will announce the finalists of its 33rd annual book awards. The member votes are being tallied as we speak, and this Saturday the board will meet at the offices of Library Journal on Park Avenue South in New York City to deliberate. The announcement of theContinue reading “NBCC finalists to be announced Saturday”

Scripter award finalists

USC Libraries Scripter Award finalists have been named. The Scripter is awarded annually by the University of Southern California Libraries to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films released during the previous year and based on a book, novella or short story. This post could go in my colleagues movies blog,Continue reading “Scripter award finalists”

A new writing contest at

So the Sobol award is gone, now here comes a new award contest. Here’s the skinny from Today, I’m exceptionally excited to announce Gather’s newest writing competition, one of our most promising programs to date: The First Chapters Writing Competition. First Chapters offers thousands of aspiring, but unpublished, authors the opportunity to winContinue reading “A new writing contest at”

Sobol award news — winners to be published

This is from the Hillel Italie at the AP about the novel contest that costs $85 to enter. Note the final quotation from Sobol’s executive vice president ofcontest management, Sue Pollock, : “The Internet has been more difficult to penetrate than we had hoped.” A division of Simon & Schuster has agreed to publish theContinue reading “Sobol award news — winners to be published”