Line of Advance Announces Winners of 2020 Col. Darron L. Wright Memorial Awards

Thank you to Line of Advance for selecting my poem for the 2020 Col. Darron L. Wright Memorial Awards

2020 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association, of which I am a member, has just announced the winners of the 42nd annual Rhysling Awards for best speculative poems of the year. The winners were selected in two categories, Long Form and ShortForm Poems, which were nominated by the members of the organization. From 67 publications.Continue reading “2020 Rhysling Award Winners”

SFPA announces 2018 Rhysling Awards

Congratulations to the 2018 Rhysling Award winners! These are the best speculative poems of 2017, as voted on by members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association (I am a voting member). This was my first time voting for the awards (and my first time being nominated, for the long poem “Instructions for Astronauts.” I enjoyedContinue reading “SFPA announces 2018 Rhysling Awards”

National Book Critics Circle Announces 2017 Award Winners

Poetry Layli Long Soldier, Whereas (Graywolf) Criticism Carina Chocano, You Play The Girl: On Playboy Bunnies, Stepford Wives, Trainwrecks, & Other Mixed Messages (Mariner) Autobiography Xiaolu Guo, Nine Continents: A Memoir In and Out of China (Grove) Biography Caroline Fraser, Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Metropolitan Books) Nonfiction Frances FitzGerald, The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America (Simon & Schuster) FictionContinue reading “National Book Critics Circle Announces 2017 Award Winners”

National Book Critics Circle Announces Finalists for 2017 Awards

The National Book Critics Circle has announced today winners of three prestigious prizes and nominees in nonfiction, biography, autobiography, poetry, criticism and fiction. The awards will be announced on March 15. Carmen Maria Machado’s debut story collection, Her Body and Other Parties (Graywolf), is being honored with the John Leonard Prize, which recognizes an outstanding first bookContinue reading “National Book Critics Circle Announces Finalists for 2017 Awards”

Wally Cardona, Anne Bogart among awardees of first Doris Duke grants

The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation announced today that 21 performing artists will share $5.7 million in grants. Each recipient gets a multiyear grant of $225,000. They’ll also receive up to $50,000 for retirement savings and audience development. Among the awardees are dancer-choreographer Wally Cardona, who will be performing Friday and Saturday night at EMPAC atContinue reading “Wally Cardona, Anne Bogart among awardees of first Doris Duke grants”

Skidmore’s Steven Millhauser a Story Prize finalist

The Story Prize announced today the three finalists for the annual award for books of short fiction. The three short story collections were chosen from among a field of 92 books submitted in 2011. The finalists are: • The Angel Esmeralda by Don DeLillo (Scribner) • We Others by Steven Millhauser (Alfred A. Knopf) •Continue reading “Skidmore’s Steven Millhauser a Story Prize finalist”

Page Turner awards

Uber-best-selling mega-author James Patterson has announced the winners of his second Page Turner Awards. The 39 winners of the 2006 James Patterson PageTurner Awards will receive cash prizes totaling $500,000. Among the winners are libraries, schools, bookstores, and innovative individuals and organizations that go to extraordinary lengths to spread the joy of books and readingContinue reading “Page Turner awards”

What is “Asian”?

The Complete Review links to an interesting article about the Man Asian Prize. Here is the write-up about the prize from the organization itself: This major new literary prize aims to recognise the best of new Asian literature and to bring it to the attention of the world literary community. A distinguished panel of judgesContinue reading “What is “Asian”?”