Scripter award finalists

millhauser.jpgUSC Libraries Scripter Award finalists have been named. The Scripter is awarded annually by the University of Southern California Libraries to honor writers for the best achievement in adaptation among English-language films released during the previous year and based on a book, novella or short story. This post could go in my colleagues movies blog, as well, but since it is about literary adaptations, it fits for a books blog, especially since the movie adapted from Saratoga Spring’s own Steven Millhauser’s short story is on the list.
Here are the finalists:

This year’s finalists, in alphabetical order by film title, are: screenwriters Alfonso Cuaron & Timothy J. Sexton and David Arata and Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby for “Children of Men,” based on the book by P.D. James; screenwriter Aline Brosh McKenna and author Lauren Weisberger for “The Devil Wears Prada”; screenwriter Neil Berger for “The Illusionist,” based on the story “Eisenheim the Illusionist” by Steven Millhauser; screenwriters Peter Morgan and Jeremy Brock for “The Last King of Scotland,” based on the book by Giles Foden; and screenwriter Patrick Marber and author Zoe Heller for “Notes on a Scandal.”

The selection committee voted to determine these five finalists from among the year’s 45 eligible films.

The full story is available here:

The winner will be announced Jan. 12.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s