The Asian American Literary Award

Since 1998, The Annual Asian American Literary Awards have honored Asian American writers for excellence in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, memoir, stage plays and screenplays. Literary awards recipients are determined by a national panel of judges who are selected on the basis of expertise in a literary genre and/or experience in academic environments relevant toContinue reading “The Asian American Literary Award”

Mary Gordon wins $20,000 story prize

MARY GORDON WINS THE STORY PRIZE for her collection, The Stories of Mary Gordon New York, NY — The Stories of Mary Gordon, published in 2006 by Pantheon Books, is the winner of The Story Prize, as announced at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City on February 28. Two other books—The LivesContinue reading “Mary Gordon wins $20,000 story prize”

SouthWest Writers seeks entries for annual contest

Aspiring writers — I’ve recently heard about this writing contest. Even though it comes out of Albuquerque and has the name “SouthWest” in it, it is a national contest open to all writers. For details about what genres are being accepted and entry fees, check out the Web site. From the Web site, TheContinue reading “SouthWest Writers seeks entries for annual contest”

Story Prize to be announced tonight in NYC

The Story Prize will be returning to the New School’s Tishman Auditorium on Wednesday, February 28, 2007 at 7:30 p.m. for our third annual awards event. The three authors chosen as Story Prize finalists will read brief selections from their books and then sit down with Larry Dark, the Director of The Story Prize, toContinue reading “Story Prize to be announced tonight in NYC”

Kiriyama Prize finalists announced

The Kiriyama Prize Web site lists the finalists in fiction and nonfiction. Included on the list is Haruki Murakami’s Dublin prize-winning collection of short stories Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman and Kiran Desia’s Booker Prize-winning The Inheritance of Loss. Details here: About the fiction finalists India in the 1980s, at the beginning of the Nepalese movementContinue reading “Kiriyama Prize finalists announced”

Threepeat: Roth wins PEN/Faulkner again

From the AP: Philip Roth has won yet another literary prize, this time the PEN/Faulkner award for Everyman, his short, bleak novel about illness and mortality. “It’s such a slim volume,” PEN/Faulkner judge Debra Magpie Earling said Monday in a statement, “and the book haunts me, its simplicity and brutishness, the unflinching look at life.Continue reading “Threepeat: Roth wins PEN/Faulkner again”