Albany Author and Nelson DeMille

The Mystery Writers of America announced its new board today, and it includes UAlbany professor Frankie Y. Bailey, who has written at least four mysteries. She’ll be the secretary, serving with DeMille, who will be president for the 2007-08 term.

From the press release:

Bailey is serving on the board of the organization at a very exciting time. This year the MWA will hold its 61st annual Edgar® Awards, which recognize the very best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film, and will honor legendary master of suspense Stephen King with the Grand Master award, the highest honor bestowed by the organization. The MWA just announced the launch of the first ever website dedicated solely to the Edgar Awards, Additionally, MWA is launching the MWA:Reads Library Initiative, a program developed to aid financially struggling libraries throughout the U.S.

Bailey is an associate professor in the School of Criminal Justice at the University at Albany (SUNY), and is also the author of mystery series featuring Southern criminal justice professor/crime historian Lizzie Stuart. The series includes the novels Death’s Favorite Child (Silver Dagger, 2000), A Dead Man’s Honor (Silver Dagger, 2001), and Old Murders (Silver Dagger, 2003). The fourth Lizzie Stuart novel, You Should Have Died on Monday, will be out in March 2007. Bailey is currently at work on Writing Justice: The Worldviews of African American Mystery Writers (McFarland).

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) recently announced the election of its national officers for the 2007-2008 term, including President Nelson DeMille.

DeMille is the bestselling author of: By the Rivers of Babylon, Cathedral, The Talbot Odyssey, Word of Honor, The Charm School, The Gold Coast, The General’s Daughter, Spencerville, Plum Island, The Lion’s Game, Up Country, Night Fall, and Wild Fire.

Serving alongside President DeMille are Secretary Frankie Y. Bailey, Treasurer Bob Williamson, and Executive Vice President Daniel J. Hale.

In his new role of Executive Vice President, Daniel J. Hale will be guiding the organization through a year of groundbreaking initiatives. Hale stated, “It is my great honor and pleasure to serve as the Executive Vice President of Mystery Writers of America, the premier organization for crime writers, professionals allied to the mystery writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those devoted to the genre.

“Mystery Writers of America is an organization dedicated to service. Through the newly announced MWA:Reads Library Initiative, we aim to provide books for American youth who might not otherwise have access to the wonderful world of mystery. We have also formed an Education Committee, one whose planned programs are designed to help increase the educational opportunities for the mystery community. Through it all, MWA remains steadfast in its dedication to promoting higher regard for crime writing, as well as raising the level of recognition and respect for its membership.”

Hale continued, “In the near future, MWA will launch its new website, one that has been completely redesigned. Not only visually stunning, it will usher in unprecedented opportunities for the 3,000 members of MWA, as well as those in the general public wanting to know more about their favorite authors.”

Mystery Writers of America’s membership includes publishers, editors, literary agents, and screen and television writers, as well as authors of fiction and non-fiction books.

The organization will celebrate the 61st anniversary of the Edgar® Awards on April 26th in New York City. The awards will be hosted by Al Roker of NBC’s Today Show and will honor Stephen King as the 2007 Grand Master.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s